Starting and Restarting All Over Again

IA from 2008 - Jul 2013

IA from 2008 – Jul 2013

I am one of those people who find it difficult to maintain an exercise routine. My body wants it; I can look at a photo of kids playing in the park and I’d be overcome by this overwhelming desire to put on my trainers and go for a run. But this desire is no match for my inertia. A body at rest tends to stay at rest. That’s me, in a sentence.

While I am careful enough not to let myself slide to my pre-2009 (deliriously oblivious) fat years, today I am far from the fighting-fit shape of 2010-2011.

There is no excuses really. Saying I have no time is bullsh!t. Back then I was probably even busier than I am now. Things were complicated not just at work, but at home too. Yet there was no such thing as “no time”. I’d wake up a little earlier, or suit up immediately after maghrib. If I was too tired, I’d walk. If it was raining, I’d pound the treadmill. If it was a long day, I’d yoga in front of the telly.

Just so you know, I am actually 3 kg heavier now than I was in 2008. How come I looked so much bigger then? Because muscle is heavier than fat. I am a lot fitter today than I was 5 years ago, but I am definitely not in the best shape that I could be. I didn’t lose a single ounce this Ramadhan because I didn’t exercise even once. A “long vacation” like this makes you lose definition and your “youthfulness”; it is immediately visible as you can see from the pics. I am not youth-obsessed. But I am unhappy with my sedentary lifestyle and I am unhappy with feeling tired and un-fit. I want to be and to stay healthy and strong.

To re-purpose a quote: the best time to start was 20 years ago. The next best time to start is now.

For inspiration, this was how I looked like in 2011. This was merely 24 months ago. I know I can get there again. The body is designed to bounce back and get better if you put in the effort. I should know, I have been there.

Here’s hoping. Amin.

IA, June 2011, right before the StandChart KL Marathon that year.

IA, June 2011, right before the StandChart KL Marathon that year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Running/Walking

Leave a Reply

