The Cupcake Slayer: The Brownie Awakening

I had a hankering for brownies yesterday and a good friend of mine shared this recipe for Gluten Free Brownies from Annabel Karmel.

The recipe:

Gluten Free Brownies

Ingredients
200 g (7 oz) plain chocolate, cut into chunks
200 g (7 oz) butter, cut into 1 cm (1/2 in) chunks
3 large eggs
175 g (6 oz) light muscovado sugar
110 g (4 oz) gluten-free plain flour
3 tbsp cocoa powder
2 tsp gluten-free baking powder
a pinch of salt
150 g (5 oz) white chocolate, chopped
icing sugar, for dusting (optional)

Method
Pre-heat the oven to 190°C/375°F/Gas 5. Put the chocolate and butter in a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water and stir until melted. Alternatively, put the chocolate and butter into a suitable bowl, microwave for 1 minute, stir then microwave in 10-second blasts until melted. Allow to cool slightly.

Using an electric mixer, whisk the eggs and sugar together until pale and frothy. Stir in the chocolate and then sift and fold in the flour, cocoa, baking powder and a large pinch of salt. Fold in the white-chocolate chunks.
Line a 28 cm x 20 cm (14 in x 8 in) cake tin with baking parchment, with the parchment coming up the sides of the tin. Pour the mixture into the tin and bake for 20–25 minutes, until a crust has formed but there is some give underneath when pressed. Do not overbake. Remove from the oven and allow to cool thoroughly in the tin. Don’t worry, it will sink and crack a little.

Remove from the tin and cut into squares before serving. You can dust with icing sugar if you wish.

Being a non-baker, I was apprehensive about baking my own but the ones I bought from stores were so unsatisfactory. My friend reassured me that this recipe is foolproof and a novice like me need not be alarmed. So I tried it today.

This was the result:

Brownies made using recipe by Annabel Karmel

It tastes really good. It is not so compact and squidgy like the ones you buy from stores, but rather fluffy and moist. Maybe I didn’t whisk the sugar and eggs long enough; I think 8mins were the recommended length, I called it quits at a little under 3mins. Nevertheless, a success!

I made some modifications to the recipe:

  1. I used plain flour instead of gluten-free flour. Just regular Cap Sauh flour that you can buy for RM1.80 a packet at the sundry shop. I sifted it twice with baking powder (regular one too, not gluten-free), cocoa powder and salt to make sure there was no lumps.
  2. I substituted muscovado sugar with regular light brown sugar (the one that sells for RM2 a packet). Actually we have muscovado sugar in the house but I couldn’t remember where I stored it til I made the batter. Muscovado sugar has high molasses content so the flavour will be more intense, but using brown sugar is fine too.
  3. I used milk chocolate and white chocolate buttons instead of bars. So the chocolates were completely melted instead of remaining as chunks in the brownie. Maybe I don’t chop the white chocolate buttons and drop them as is into the batter next time?
  4. I sprinkled toasted walnuts on the baking tin before I poured in the batter. I did this because I wanted the walnuts to be on top of the brownies when I flip it out of the tin. I discovered a mistake – I didn’t chop the walnuts into smaller pieces so it was a pain to cut the brownies into nice squares afterwards.
  5. Apart from lining the baking tin with A4 paper (I didn’t have parchment paper – well we do but again, I couldn’t find it til after everything was over), I also dusted it with a little icing sugar. I can’t remember who taught me this but it made peeling off the paper from the brownie much easier.

Since I have some ingredients left I think I will attempt to make some brownies again for the next couple of days and see which recipe is the best for me. Who knows, baking brownies could (finally) be my legitimate excuse to have a kitchen in the house :)

Try it and tag me with yours, I’ll add the pics in this post as we go along. Hey I can’t bake or cook and I did just fine; it’s time to bake yours now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cupcake Slayer, Let's Learn!

Leave a Reply

