I Can Make Pancakes, Thank You

I have been obsessed with pancakes since last Saturday. It started when I saw an episode of Two and A Half Men where the guys were sitting around at the breakfast table eating pancakes and I thought to myself, yum, that’s exactly what I feel like eating right now.

I bought a box of ready-made pancake mix (just add milk or water) and then on Saturday my sister Awa bought ingredients for homemade pancakes and left them in my apartment after making the first batch. So basically for the last 5 days, I have been having pancakes any time I am hungry.

Unlike Awa, who cooks regularly, I rely on the internet for everything.  So I googled “basic pancake recipe” and clicked on the first link given in the results. This recipe  is from SouthernFood. It went  so fabulously well that I made another batch, poured it into a tumbler and freeze  it (as a general rule I am not very handy in the kitchen so I try to make a lot of something and then freeze them). By the way, the batter contains milk and eggs so I won’t advise keeping it for more than 3 days or so. I looked it up online and some people keep the frozen batter for a week. Another great suggestion (which I am so going to do) is to premix all the dry ingredients and keep them in a jar. When you need to make some, just add milk and eggs and melted butter.

Anyway, the recipe. It’s foolproof. If I can make it, anyone can.

Dry ingredients:

  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour (Tepung Cap Sauh that you can buy for about RM2 from any general store will do just fine)
  • 3 tablespoons of sugar (I use brown sugar coz it’s the only kind that I have in my pantry)
  • Half teaspoon of salt
  • 2 and a half teaspoon of soda bicarbonate (or baking powder, either one will do)
  • A pinch of cinnamon powder (because I have some cinnamon powder in the pantry that I use to make French Toasts and thought it’d add a nice smell to the pancakes. It did.) p/s: Don’t put this in if you want to make savoury pancakes. Cinnamon doesn’t go well with poached eggs and tomatoes.

Sieve all ingredients and set aside.

Wet ingredients:

  • Two eggs
  • 1 and a half cup of cold milk (some people replace this with buttermilk or combination of both). I have been told that it is also okay to replace this with powdered milk or even creamer, in which case it becomes a dry ingredient and should be sifted together with the other dry stuff above. As for the liquid, substitute with water.
  • 2 tablespoon of melted, unsalted butter (I suppose salted butter is also okay, you just don’t add salt in the dry ingredients then)

Whisk the eggs and milk in a bowl, then pour onto dry ingredients and mix. Add melted butter last.

It should have the consistency that is slightly thicker than a cake batter, yellowish in colour.

To make fluffier pancakes, separate the egg whites and the yolk, beat the egg whites til stiff peak forms and fold it into batter. I think that’s just too much trouble.

After that just heat up your frying pan and pour the batter in, 2 minutes on each side.

I don’t have a camera so I can’t show you how my pancakes turned out but it looked something like Posie’s Place Breakfast Pancakes, which I consider a huge accomplishment given my aversion towards cooking and kitchens in general:

This is so going to be a staple dish at my Maid Cafe.

What Maid Cafe, you ask?

Well that’s a story for another day. Time to go off for a run!

Leave a comment

Filed under Happy, Let's Learn!

Leave a Reply

