Still At #58, Thanks

I lose an average 5 mobile phones a year. This year I have lost exactly 5 – a loaned Blackberry (which was found and returned by a taxi driver, thank God), 3 Nokia cheap phones (I forgot the name of the model but basically the phone costs me RM89 each, hence the moniker cheap phone) and a Sony Ericcson (left at Changi airport). And tonight I barely missed losing the 6th, which thankfully kept my mobile phone tally at 58, thankyouverymuch.

How? A couple of days ago while killing some late night time watching Two And A Half Men, I had this craving for pancakes. I have been pretty successful at ignoring it but today after gym I could not help myself so  I went to nearby Giant to buy ingredients to make them (this, despite me having a dinner date at 8pm on same night).

Anyway, after completing my purchase, I reached into my shopping bag to take out my phone and check my messages. Sure enough there was no phone. I went back to the gym to see if I left it there (nope), checked my gym bag (nope) and turned the apartment upside down hoping that I had kicked the phone under my bed (I always do). No such luck.

So I went online and asked friends to dial the number, hoping that we would be able to recover the phone somehow. No one picked up the phone so it went ringing unanswered. This was good news. It could either mean the phone was still undiscovered, or it was discovered and kept by someone (experience taught me that if you call the phone and it goes straight to voicemail, you can kiss your phone goodbye).

I huffed it back to Giant, luckily it is only a short 5min walk from my apartment. It was raining lightly and I was still in my gym gear but I was too anxious to change into something else or to remember an umbrella. A quick check with the customer service officer and security guard didn’t bear any fruit so I decided to retrace my steps:

  • Fruits section (the Dole Bananas display)
  • Chilled section (coz I bought an orange juice to drink while I shopped and needed buttermilk for the pancake)
  • Frozen section (where I gawked at ice cream tubs. That was all I did – gawk. I did not buy)
  • Cereal section (I needed cereals and skim milk)
  • and the Cake Mix section where I spent the most time looking for the dry ingredients and maple syrup.

And that was where I found the phone, quietly nestled between the rows and rows of  Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup and Mrs. Butterworth’s Maple Syrup. The phone was on silent mode, which was why no one heard it.

How lucky was I that no one else had cravings for pancakes tonight?

Here’s the recipe which I used called Banana Buttermilk Pancakes from Closet Cooking. I am no great cook but I know how to use the Internet :-)

Ingredients:
1 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoons sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk
1 egg
2 tablespoons unsalted butter (melted)
2 overripe bananas (mashed)

Directions:

  1. Mix the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt in a large bowl.
  2. Mix the buttermilk, egg, butter and bananas in another bowl.
  3. Mix the wet and dry ingredients making sure to not over mix.
  4. Heat a pan and melt a touch of butter in it
  5. Pour 1/4 cup of the mixture into the pan and heat until the surface starts to bubble and the bottom is golden brown, about 2-3 minutes.
  6. Flip the pancake and cook the other side until the bottom is golden brown, about 1-2 minutes.

Nyum.

Leave a comment

Filed under food for thought

Leave a Reply

