With Every Goodbye You Learn

(c) http://www.flickr.com/photos/m_is_for_movie/

A different friend saw the poem in my earlier post and she sent me this. She said this was written on the back on my notebook and she saw it when she was going through my Statistics lecture notes. We were in AAJ she recounted. AAJ stands for Ambang Asuhan Jepun so this must be back in 1992 or 1993. She liked it so much she copied it down. She had lost that copy but searched the internet and found it. She also told me that Done is not my only favourite word. I used to use the word Faith a lot too.

The past two days had been an outpouring of memories. I am touched by the different things that people remember me by, and even doubly so that they retained those memories, much like how these poems remained in the hearts of my two friends.

I am no longer afraid.

I am a lucky girl.

With Every Goodbye
(found on the wall of a youth hostel)

After a while you learn the subtle difference
between holding a hand and chaining a soul
And you learn that love doesn’t mean leaning
and company doesn’t mean security
And you begin to learn that kisses aren’t contracts
and presents aren’t promises

And you begin to accept your defeats with your head up
and your eyes open, with the grace of a man or woman
not the grief of a child, and learn to build all your roads on today because
tomorrow’s ground in too uncertain for plans
and futures have a way of falling down in mid-flight

After a while, you learn that even sunshine burns if you get too much
So you plant your own garden and decorate your own soul
Instead of waiting for someone to bring you flowers

And you learn that you really can endure
That you really are strong and you really do have worth
And you learn… and you learn
With every goodbye…you learn.

[photo (c) http://www.flickr.com/photos/m_is_for_movie/%5D

Leave a comment

Filed under Happy, Special Mentions

Leave a Reply

