A Poem, A Visit, An Email, A Bouquet.

My internal phone rang. Cik ****, this is Richard from the Control Room. There is a delivery for you here, is it okay if we send it  up to your suite  now?

Hold on, I said. What delivery? I was a little fuzzy with sleep. The old doctor was not kidding. Zolpidem can knock you out. It was as easy as putting my head on the pillow and I was dead to the world.

Something nice, Richard from Control Room said.

I’ll come down, I told Richard from Control Room and then thanked him.

I looked for my laundry slip, put some money in my pajama pocket to pay for it, put on the same pink sweater from last night and grabbed my keys. In the elevator I realized I looked like a mess. Puffy eyes, unkempt hair, polka dot pajamas and a yellow flip flop.

Richard from Control Room stood up when he saw me and handed me a bouquet of pink gerberas. Please sign here Cik ****,  he said.

I turned to the florist who was standing near the door waiting for the signed delivery order and asked, who is it from? The old Chinese uncle pointed to the card, Saya rasa dia ada tulis sana (I think it is written there).

I read the card and spontaneously burst into tears. Richard from Control Room and the uncle laughed.

Boyfriend ah, miss? the uncle asked.

I nodded quickly and said my thanks and made my way up. Crying is a messy business if you don’t have tissue handy.  Kinda hard to type too. It was only upon writing this that I remembered I did not pick up my laundry.

I have spent too much time thinking about the wrong people and the wrong things.

Funny how your hardest day turned out to be one of the best days of your life. The kind that you will remember and hold on to keep you strong.

Can’t find the words so I am letting Sulley and Mike Wazowski sing it instead.

******************************

******************************

I don’t know if this will cheer you up, she wrote, but I remember reading this in the margins of your Commerce text book and thought maybe this will bring some happy memories. Pretty sure this is the right one.

I clicked the link at the end of the email and drew a sharp intake of breath when I saw the poem. It was something that I haven’t seen or read in 20 years or so.

I have some pretty amazing friends.

Ingatan Pada Suatu Kasih Yang Tak Jadi

Kesilapannya
kau tak berdaya berterus-terang
dan aku tak berdaya mentafsir

Kesilapannya
kau mengatur gambar-gambar
dalam sebuah album yang indah
sedang aku tidak pernah melihat gambar-gambar itu

Kesilapannya
kita telah bertemu
dalam sebuah mimpi yang menggembirakan
tetapi aku lebih gembira
bila terjaga dari mimpi itu.

Zurinah Hassan (http://ms.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zurinah_Hassan)

Transliteration: Remembrance of A Love That Was Not To Be

The mistake was
You were not able to say it out loud
and I was not able to read between the lines

The mistake was
You lined up pictures
In a beautiful album
But I never saw any of them

The mistake was
We met in a happy dream
But I was happier
When I woke up from it.

iend sent me this earlier to cheer me up coz she remembers reading it in the margins of my Commerce text book (I am a compulsive doodler) when we were in high school. It’s funny the memories that people have of you; and for this I am glad because I loved this poem and I love it still. Thanks love, you know who you are (she asked to remain unnamed). *All transliteration is approximation.

Ingatan Pada Suatu Kasih Yang Tak Jadi

Kesilapannya

kau tak berdaya berterus-terang

dan aku tak berdaya mentafsir

Kesilapannya

kau mengatur gambar-gambar

dalam sebuah album yang indah

sedang aku tidak pernah melihat gambar-gambar itu

Kesilapannya

kita telah bertemu

dalam sebuah mimpi yang menggembirakan

tetapi aku lebih gembira

bila terjaga dari mimpi itu.

Zurinah Hassan (http://ms.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zurinah_Hassan)

Transliteration: Remembrance of A Love That Was Not To Be

The mistake was

You were not able to say it out loud

and I was not able to read between the lines

The mistake was

You lined up pictures

In a beautiful album

But I never saw any of them

The mistake was

We met in a happy dream

But I was happier

When I woke up from it.

There is another poem that I am looking for. It is called Puisi Akhir Musim Bunga but I forgot who is the writer. It goes something like this, and since I am recalling this from memory I know I am getting the prose wrong and all jumbled up. If you can find  this, you’ll have me eating out of your palm.

Puisi Akhir Musim Bunga

Musim bunga ini telah sampai ke penghujungnya

Seri alam pun pudar

Bersama keringnya kelopak-kelopak segar

Alam ini bakal sepi lagi

Sesepi aku yang bakal kau tingalkan

Dalam sepi dan hening akhir musim

Puisi ini ku tulis

Ku tulis untukmu yang jauh

dengan payah

Kerana seperti musim bunga yang bakal berakhir ini

kita juga bakal jadi dewasa

bersama hukum alam itu.

Transliteration: Poem at the End of Spring

This Spring has come to its end

The radiance of the season fading

With the drying of fresh petals

The world will be quietly lonely again

The way I will be quietly lonely

when you leave

In the desolation and clarity that comes with the end of Spring

I wrote this poem

I wrote it for you who are far away

hard at it is

Because like this beautiful Spring that’s about to end

We too will have to grow

with the passing of time.

-END-

· · Share

5 Comments

Filed under Happy, Special Mentions

5 responses to “A Poem, A Visit, An Email, A Bouquet.

  1. honeybee

    wah!…. i likeee

  2. I like too. Rupa2nya sender got in touch with Tita early morning to ask for my address. Completely unexpected and very2 nice. Before this I hate getting flowers but I cannot help but feel very touched when I got this. Today is definitely one of the best days of my life.

  3. Riker

    Glad u liked it. You have no idea how much effort the bald guy had to go thru to get it sent to the right address :P But kudos to the sender.

  4. The Supposed Boyfriend

    Thanks Riker for playing a part in the delivery of the gerberas :) I am glad my girlfriend likes it. Ha ha.

  5. But address on delivery slip is correct. How on earth did bald guy got it wrong at the first place? Aiyo.

Leave a Reply

