It Never Works Out That Way

It was one of those breakfast thing.

For the past decade or so, I always do the breakfast thing. For one, I am a morning person. For another, breakfast is easy. You always have someplace else to go afterwards. So the goodbyes are breezy and non-committal. You will have no time to think or go over the conversations that you had (or worse, didn’t have) in your head.

Well, it was one of those breakfast things.

I asked about what he was doing lately and he told me. Somewhere along the conversation, I found myself trapped in a noiseless chamber – I could see him but I could not hear a single word that he said. I didn’t need to. I knew it wasn’t anything important or earth-shattering. It was just a perfunctory response to my perfunctory interest in his whereabouts.

Somehow our conversations had gone dry. They became routine and uninteresting.

Wanting to go back to where we once were is just that – something that we want.

It never works out that way.

We both knew that too.

=========================

A redux from 2000, “You Won’t Be Mine” by Matchbox 20

Take your head around the world
See what you get
From your mind
Write your soul down word for word
See who’s your friend
Who is kind
It’s almost like a disease
I know soon you will be

Over the lies, you’ll be strong
You’ll be rich in love and you will carry on
But no – oh no
No you won’t be mine

Take your straight line for a curve
Make it stretch, the same old line
Try to find if it was worth what you spent
Why you’re guilty for the way
You’re feeling now
It’s almost like being free
And I know soon you will be

Over the lies, you’ll be strong
You’ll be rich in love and you will carry on
But no – oh no
No you won’t be mine

Take yourself out to the curb
Sit and wait
A fool for life
It’s almost like a disease
I know soon you will be

Over the lies, you’ll be strong
You’ll be rich in love and you will carry on
But no – oh no
No you won’t be mine

Leave a comment

Filed under Wonder

Leave a Reply

