I Do Like Mondays

Back in 2005 when I was doing the tour of duty in Papua (formerly known as Irian Jaya, not to be confused with Papua New Guinea) and we were in that rickety plane taking off to Wamena , I thought to myself … wow, how amazing is this? Sure, the job was hard, but imagine being there after just watching the Discovery channel’s doco about the Ndani tribe a few months before without having the slightest clue that you would end up among them soon, it was just simply amazing.

manokwari_from_above

The aerial view of Manokwari bay as we took off

ijah_at_cockpit

In the cockpit, right about when this thought crossed my head

view_at_baliem_valley

At Baliem Valley, an incredible resort amongst the mountains. It was so beautiful I made a promise that I will come here again for a vacation, not work.

with_wamena_kids

With Pak Hendra, Ibu Wita and the children of Wamena.

repairing_hardtop_ndani

Our hardtop stalled, and an Ndani man stopped by. No he didn't want to help, he just wanted his picture taken.

break_fast_on_mountaintop

This was in Nekori, the first day we were on the mountains which also happened to be the first day of Ramadhan. Dusk fell very soon and temperature dropped drastically, this was taken at 4pm. We had dinner nearby a stream. The food was terrible, the company was divine.

I am reminded of this trip as I was doing some work on this rainy Saturday afternoon and it struck me how much I love my current job that this Papua experience pales in comparison.

I didn’t think that it could get better, but it does.

Well, welcome to my Red Fort, Sir Bob Geldof.  It’s an incredible icing to my already incredible cupcake year.

And no, I don’t want to shoot Mondays down. Not at all.

p/s: This version of a duet between Sir Bob Geldof and Bon Jovi is my nod to AAX boss.

1 Comment

Filed under food for thought, Happy

One response to “I Do Like Mondays

  1. Anonymous

    I enjoyed reading this…thx for sharing.

Leave a Reply

