Dream Jobs

http://www.sxc.hu/profile/ba1969

You want to take over what?!, exclaimed Mr Abu during breakfast. 

As a general rule, I prefer meeting friends for breakfast. My nights are unusually busy. With what you need not know.

I want to take over company XYZ, I repeated while munching on toast. 

Why? he asked, and more importantly, HOW?

I added the capital letters for effect. But I am sure he meant to ask that part in capital letters.

I am going to ask for the job, I told him. I would go up to them and tell them why I am the best person for the job and then show them what I want to do with XYZ. 

Just like that? he asked.

Just like that, I confirmed.

Mr Abu made a face. I hate disbelievers.

Don’t you think I can do it? I asked him in return.

Well, he said, it is partly a political post. Do you know anyone that could open that door?

Nope, I said. I am going to do it cold.

I swore he choked a little bit on his mango juice but I pretended I didn’t notice.

I told this to [name deleted] too, you know, I told Mr Abu.

And did he tell you that you were crazy? he asked.

Nope, I told Abu, he shook my hand and told me he looked forward to that day.

That could be his way of telling you that you are crazy, said Mr Abu.

Maybe, I said, but the important thing is, in that moment he led me to believe that he believed in me. And that was enough. False confidence is confidence nevertheless. No one can tell the difference.

Et cetera.

=============================================== 

If I ask you a rethorical question, and you don’t have to answer right away, what would be the 5 dream jobs that you would pick assuming qualifications and time and history and salary were no object?*

Write that down. You can really think about this. Take your time.

Done?

Now figure out how to get there. It’s that simple.

(*High Fidelity, 2000)

Leave a comment

Filed under Conversations/Arguments

Leave a Reply

