Do you know the story of Dulcinea?

Today I feel a bit lazy. No particular reason why. I’m just hungry I guess. Half a canister of supersized Pringles is not a complete meal by a long shot. Obviously moderation is not my strong suit.

Do you know the story of Dulcinea?

Dulcinea is a fictional character who is referred to (but does not appear) in Miguel de Cervantes’ novel Don Quijote. She is also known as Dulcinea del Toboso, Aldonza Lorenzo, and Aldonza de Toboso.

Seeking after the traditions of the knights-errand of old, Don Quijote finds a true love who he calls Dulcinea.  In the Broadway musical Man of La Mancha, a prominent arc of the musical follows her distrust and then fervent belief in Don Quijote’s quest. Also in the musical, a priest sings a song called “To Each His Dulcinea”, in which he reflects that although Dulcinea does not exist, the idea of her is what keeps Don Quijote alive and on his quest.

Why do I ask if you know the story of Dulcinea?

About 2 months ago, I was asked, who are you?

I answered I am a ghost. I don’t exist. I don’t leave footprints.

I thought that was a cute answer. Or at least answer enough to make her drop the line of questioning.

Yet here you are, she said. In flesh and blood. Strange that all these time I didn’t even know that you exist.

Maybe I don’t, I replied with a small smile. Maybe I am just a figment of someone’s imagination.

Oh, she said and nodded understandingly.

Just like Dulcinea.

I looked at her in amazement.

I was, I told her, but I have ceased to be her. Now I am just me. There are no more quests.

It was her turn to smile.

This, too, is a true story.

Leave a comment

Filed under Conversations/Arguments

Leave a Reply

