7 Things I Hate


i hate helvetica

Originally uploaded by sgoralnick

In previous blogpost, I was tagged and asked to list down my pet hates. Well, right now I want to list down my actual hates.

  1. I hate it when people insinuate that I can’t afford to buy the things that I own and that I must have had a secret financier hidden in the background somewhere. If I have to pick a hate that I hate the most, this will be it. Yes I have some nice things. Some of those things were gifts. I’d like to think that those came without any conditions (like a RM15,000 receipt; sorry can’t resist making that reference though I know it makes no sense to most people); and that the giver(s) was content with the act of giving itself. But mostly? I buy them myself. Come on. It’s the new millennium. Girls these days can actually afford to buy their own sports cars and atlas rings and Chanel 2.55. While we welcome gifts, we don’t rely on financiers to take care of our expenses or pay for our shoes and wrap dresses. That is so uncool (channeling Aniston circa Vogue).
  2. I hate it when people, for no reason other than making small talks, call/text/email me to ask me where I am. I am wherever I am. Please, no questions necessary.
  3. I hate it when people make deductions and extrapolations about my state of mind and state of heart just because there is a change in my moods. I’m a girl! I am allowed to have moods or a change of heart without any reason whatsoever. A boy once deduced that my life must be unbearably lonely. I asked him, how did you come to that? He said, because you get quiet sometimes. I looked at him like he was out of his mind. On hindsight, I think he was out of his mind. I run my life on the overdrive. Every now and then I change gears. It has known to happen. Don’t read too much into it.
  4. I hate it when I catch people lying and I give them the opportunity to come clean, they stick to the lie anyway. I am sure there was a reason to lie at the first place. But when the jig is up, don’t give me excuses. Just say you are sorry and be done with it. I have terminated friendships over this and I won’t hesitate to do it again in the future.
  5. I hate it when people forcefully shovel their opinions or beliefs down my throat. For instance, a girl once was so convinced that I was hitting on the boy that she liked that she wrote me a long letter telling me that she would forgive me and remain my friend if I would admit to it. She’s got to be kidding me, right? I don’t give a rat’s ass about anyone’s convictions. If you want to know something about me, just ask. Don’t form an opinion and then force me to accept it.
  6. I hate it when people want me to talk when I don’t want to.  It has nothing to do with anything. Sometimes I just find the topic unbelievably boring and I don’t have anything to contribute to make it less boring that it already is. So when I don’t have an opinion, I don’t. I’m not being facetious or pretentious, I am just disinterested.
  7. I hate it when people accuse me of being fake or phony when I am at work. Work is work.  There is a self-prescribed decorum and rules that I maintain and I follow them strictly. It is only a very small part of my life. It doesn’t even figure in my top 10 priorities (my career is, but not my employment and even then it is at the bottom of the list). Just because I am a gregarious, come-what-may party animal outside work, it doesn’t mean I am suppressing my personality when I step into the office. Just like in any other situation, I size things up and act according to what’s appropriate. The nature of my character remains the same, only the execution changes. If that is being a phony, well then I guess I am a phony. I don’t give a rat’s ass. I hate the accusations but you know what, c’est la vie.
Leave a comment

Filed under Go Grr...

Leave a Reply

