Needful Things

Needful Things

(words + melody  by Ijah Amran, 1998)

If you need to put your head on my shoulder
If you need to lay down and rest
If you need someone to hold
If you need someone to say I care
If you need to speak softly in my ears
I am here

If you need to let go of all your fears
If you need to break down and cry
If you need to be touched
If you need to be loved
If you need to feel safe

I will not take these things for granted
Every little smile and every prayer
I will not take these things for granted
Everything you need
I am here

If you need to break down
And weep tonight
If you need to twine your hands with mine
If you need to heal your wounds
If you need to be alone
If you need to look deeply into your soul
I am here

If you need to get down on your knees
And pray in silence
If you need to speak without saying a word
If you need to belong
If you need to be free
If you need to breathe

I am here
I am here

Ijah’s Note: Inspired by Toad The Wet Sprocket’s I Will Not Take These Things for Granted; which line I stole and included in this song. This has been dedicated to a few people in various incarnations.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ijah's Own Stuff

Leave a Reply

