A Moment of Silence

Do you remember this?

I don’t.

Just like the Dec 26 tsunami, I was completely unaware of September 11. It was just another ordinary night. I don’t even remember what I did.

The most vivid memory I have about it would years later, through a short story that was published in The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror compendium – where a firefighter, destitute about the search and rescue effort at Ground Zero, found a single red shoe and could not let go of it.

I am sure there are many things that we cannot let go of too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Special Mentions

Leave a Reply

