Ghost? Or was I just hungry?


ghost

Originally uploaded by PhillipsHeadDeathDriver

A few days ago, I had a ghostly encounter. The reason I am writing about it here is because I have had ghostly encounters in the past, but none in recent times. And I thought, mmmm, a post about ghosts would be interesting. So I am going to tell you 4 ghost stories in chronological order, the way I remember them. All these happened to me, and the details may be a bit fuzzy since a lot of time had passed, but I am pretty sure they happened and I was wide awake at the time it happened; just like I did last Thursday.

  1. The first one happened in 1989. That was the year we were sitting for our SRP (I think it stands for Lower Education Certificate, though that doesn’t sound quite right) so a lot of people were staying up late and burning the midnight oil. The girl who was sleeping in the room next to me was snoring, and for some reason that particular night it annoyed the hell out of me, which was strange because it has never annoyed me before. I banged on the wall separating us a couple of times but she kept snoring anyway. Angry, I bundled myself up with my blanket and stomped into her room. Imagine by surprise when I saw her awake, sitting at the foot of her bed facing the study counter, wearing a purple baju kurung and her hair tied in a loose ponytail with a ribbon! She turned to look at me but she didn’t say a thing. I found the fact that she was fully dressed very strange, so I asked,”Miss X? Where are you going? It’s past midnight”. She didn’t say anything; instead, she turned back to her study counter and continued reading a book. I shrugged my shoulders and went back to my bed. Then, I realized that the lights in Miss X room was off and she was snoring. Our rooms were separated only by a thin wooden wall and a 4 ft locker; it was impossible for her to turn off the lights and went back to sleep within the 10 seconds it took for me to reach my bed. I bundled myself again and went to her room. It was pitch dark, and Miss X was sleeping very VERY soundly. So who did I see?
  2. When I was 16, my room mate was the late Shahriza Shaharun, right before she moved to MRSM KB. For the first time, my room faced the indoor badminton court. All my rooms before that faced the outdoors. I hate this room, it made me feel claustrophobic. For some reason, Shah hated it too and both of us spent as little time as we could in that room. I normally crashed in another friend’s place (her room mate was accepted into super MRSM, so she was basically room mate-less); while Shah, well I wasn’t sure where she crashed but like I said, we hardly slept in that room. One night both of us were in the room. I was listening to my walkman, I think it was the Cherry Pie album by Warrant. As I was falling asleep, out of the corner of my eye I saw someone rummaging through the drawer at the bottom of my bed and she was being very rough and noisy about it. Annoyed, I opened up my eyes, tore off the headphones with the intention to give this person a dressing down of her lifetime. Not only that she was going through my drawer without permission, for goodness sake, she wasn’t even being discreet about it! I saw up and saw that it was Shah, but she didn’t look at me. She was so intent at rummaging through the bunch of plastic bags that I kept in the drawer (I kept used envelopes, plastic bags, used wrappers etc in the bottom drawer. Even back then I was big on recycling, only back then we didn’t call it recycling, we call it being cheap). Then she picked out a plastic bag, and waved it up as if telling me, ah, I found it, sorry to bother your sleep. I decided it wasn’t that big of a deal so I put on my headphones and went back to sleep. I turned to sleep on my right side and then I was Shah sleeping soundly on her bed. So who was at the foot of MY BED?! I didn’t run or scream or did anything dramatic, but the next day I did ask for a formal transfer to another room. Shah changed school to MRSM KB very shortly after so the room remained empty for the rest of the school year. Footnote: Shah was born with a congenital hole-in-heart. In 1995 or 1996, on one winter’s afternoon, she ran to the bus stop in cold, rainy London so that she could catch the bus to her university, and her heart gave away. She fell and passed.
  3. This third story happened when I was in varsity. I was living in SS2 with a bunch of people. I had a room of my own which I shared with Ojai on the first floor of the house. The rest of the girls slept on the second floor. My computer was placed in the living room. Two reasons: 1, my room was too small for it and; 2, it’s so that other people could use it too. It was the start of the internet craze so I went online every single night. Now, I can’t remember what song I was listening to on my CD player. But I remembered feeling uneasy the whole night long and was trying very hard not to fall asleep. But it was late at night and I had a long day at the faculty, so stupidly, instead of going to my room and sleep like a normal person would, I decided to crash on the sofa. I was very lucid when this incident happened because it happened the moment I pressed the stop button on the CD player. Suddenly there was this deafening noise all around me (a lot like TV static, but much much louder). I told myself not to open my eyes but I could not resist it so I did anyway. I saw a male person (figure?) standing right beside me at the sofa, and he was bending down as if to check if I was sleeping. I am sure I was breathing very loudly and sweat was pouring all over my body; but suddenly the deafening sound stopped and the air became clean and I sat up and there was nothing or no one in the living room but me. For some reason, I instinctively knew who that person (that apparition?) was. I collected my things and went into my room and slept; which was something that I should have done at the first place.
  4. Ok, so what happened a few days ago. It would have been last Thursday. I came home around 9-ish and for some reason felt very sleepy. Amy and I were watching a little tv when I declared I was so tired and wanted to go to bed. This is out of character, as I normally don’t sleep early (or don’t sleep at all!). I picked up my water bottle, went to the bathroom to give my face a splash of cold water, changed into my pajamas and went to bed. Again in another out of character move, I didn’t take a shower. I always do, no matter how late I get in or how tired I am at the end of a day. But last Thursday I didn’t. As I was sleeping on my left side, I felt a female presence close by. She rocked my shoulder a few times, as if trying to wake me but when I tried to get up, she pushed me down and said (or whispered, I’m not sure), don’t get up. I told myself, this could either be a dream or a hallucination or there is a supernatural close by. If it was either one of the first 2, the moment I ‘wake up’ it could be gone. So I forced myself to push this girl away and sat up. I looked around and no one was there, and the room didn’t feel any different. I went to the bathroom and washed my face and looked at the bathroom clock, it was 12.13am. Took a sip of water and then I lied on my back and stared at the ceiling. Just as my breathing became regular, I felt her presence again. This time I knew it wasn’t a dream or a hallucination; nor was it one of those ‘smothering’ thing that a lot of people experienced. She was angry and I struggled to sit up and to push her away. It wasn’t working so I let myself fall back onto the pillow and I said, go away. Then there was a deafening sound – like vacuum, where you can hear nothing at all and then it was gone.

I don’t think my house is haunted, I’ve been living here too long for that to be the case. But I think it was something that followed me home, or I accidentally picked up some time during the day and it was trying to leave but didn’t know how.

I told it to Amy the next day. She didn’t want to hear it and she set a cardinal rule, that no matter how tired I am or how late I turn in – I MUST TAKE A SHOWER BEFORE I SLEEP.

And my friends, that would be the moral of today’s story.

Leave a comment

Filed under Conversations/Arguments, Wonder

Leave a Reply

