As…if!

Two days ago I received an email from a distant acquaintance. By distant I mean I have no clue who she is and would not recognize her even if I bump into her outside my doorstep. But we happened to be in the same mailing list and have many mutual friends. So, pardon me if I am a little surprised when I received an email from her. It was innocent enough. She has seen a job advertisement by one of our subsidiaries in Jobstreet and asked me about it.

I replied to her email to say that it is indeed one of our subs but it doesn’t fall under my care. Then I gave her the background of the company and its staff – with the hope that it will assist her if she intends to apply for the job.

Then yesterday she replied back. And this was what she wrote (the reply is in bahasa so I have taken the liberty to transliterate it). The original is below it, typos and all.

“Thanks for the long explanation. No shortcuts? My husband is applying for this position, via jobstret hehehe. Is there any way you can push him in? His name is in the consideration list… but it would be even better if you can get him in the fastest way.”

—– Original Message —–
From: “name deleted”
To: ijah@email.com
Subject: Re: as’kom… nak tanya skit ..
Date: Tue, 04 Sep 2007 08:42:56 +0000

thanks for the long explaination….

takde cable ke ?? my hubby apply for this position, kat jobstreet
la… hehehe.. ada jalan belakang tak ?? his name in consideration
list la… tapi kalo ada fastest way lagi bagus la kan.

=name deleted=

What “fastest” way?!! What “shortcuts”? She’s got to be kidding me.

I hate lazy people. I hate spoon-fed people. I hate people who think they are good at their work when all they do is blow hot air all day long.

I work hard. No cables, no fastest way, no jalan belakang.  So don’t insult me by asking for shorcut favours. It ain’t happening.

Why is it so difficult for some people to grasp the concept of a hard day’s work?

Leave a comment

Filed under Go Grr...

Leave a Reply

